For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living At the age of thirty six, on the verge of completing a


Medicine has triumphed in modern times, transforming the dangers of childbirth, injury, and disease from harrowing to manageable But when it comes to the inescapable realities of aging and death, what medicine can do often runs counter to what it should Through eye opening research and gripping


For too long, the gut has been the body s most ignored and least appreciated organ, but it turns out that it s responsible for than just dirty work our gut is at the core of who we are Gut The Inside Story of our Body s Most Underrated Organ gives the alimentary canal its long overdue moment


Alors voil le r cit au quotidien d un apprenti m decin qui joue des claquettes entre les diff rents services des Urgences avec ses co internes L , pendant sept jours, il d crit une patiente en stade terminal ce qui se passe sous les blouses et dans les couloirs Pour la garder en vie le temps


Brilliant stories that show the growth of a novelist s mind, and the raw material that fed the wild surrealism of Bulgakov s later fiction.With the ink still wet on his diploma, the twenty five year old Dr Mikhail Bulgakov was flung into the depths of freezing rural Russia which, in 1916 17, was


In gripping accounts of true cases, surgeon Atul Gawande explores the power and the limits of medicine, offering an unflinching view from the scalpel s edge Complications lays bare a science not in its idealized form but as it actually is uncertain, perplexing, and profoundly human Complications


A highly infectious, deadly virus from the central African rain forest suddenly appears in the suburbs of Washington, D.C There is no cure In a few days 90 percent of its victims are dead A secret military SWAT team of soldiers and scientists is mobilized to stop the outbreak of this exotic hot


Roman de formation, Le Ch ur des femmes raconte l histoire d un jeune m decin model par la facult et par sa sp cialit d lection, et qui doit brusquement r viser ses pr jug s devant une r alit qui lui avait chapp jusqu ici ce ne sont pas ses ma tres qui lui apprendront son m tier, mais les


Un m decin, a n a pas toujours t m decin En 1974 vingt ans avant La Maladie de Sachs Bruno Sachs entre la facult de m decine de Tourmens Il se lie d amiti avec Andr Solal, Basile Bloom et Christophe Gray, trois tudiants vou s la m decine g n rale Au cours de ces sept ann es de


If a man has lost a leg or an eye, he knows he has lost a leg or an eye but if he has lost a self himself he cannot know it, because he is no longer there to know it Dr Oliver Sacks recounts the stories of patients struggling to adapt to often bizarre worlds of neurological disorder Here are


One of the most important psychological studies of the late twentieth century, On Death and Dying grew out of Dr Elisabeth K bler Ross s famous interdisciplinary seminar on death, life, and transition In this remarkable book, Dr K bler Ross first explored the now famous five stages of death


Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa She was a poor Southern tobacco farmer who worked the same land as her slave ancestors, yet her cells taken without her knowledge became one of the most important tools in medicine The first immortal human cells grown in culture, they


A doctor and father in small town Ohio weighs the need to catch a killer against his fears for his family s safety in this debut psychological suspense novel Just west of the Ohio River, lies the peaceful town of Wintersville Safe from the crime and congestion of city life, it is the perfect place


Growing up in the high desert of California, Jim Doty was poor, with an alcoholic father and a mother chronically depressed and paralyzed by a stroke Today he is the director of the Center for Compassion and Altruism Research and Education CCARE at Stanford University, of which the Dalai Lama is